Tags

ImageI love these. All butter-y and buttermilk-y and caramel-y and fabulous.

I started out with Add a Pinch’s Southern Caramel Cake recipe. Because I was making cupcakes, I baked them at 350 for 20 minutes in lined cupcake pans, filled halfway. If you fill cupcake liners more than halfway, they will bake over the top, like a muffin.

For the icing, I used the suggested icing recipe, doubled, with a touch of vanilla at the end.

However, while the icing was getting to 235 degrees, I dipped the tops of the cupcakes in the icing and amazing things happened.

Image

Image

And, of course, I had to try them…to make sure, y’know, they weren’t poisonous or anything. Yeah, that’s it.

Image

Also, I’m going to tell you a secret to this icing.

If, while reading the recipe, you balk at the idea of stirring this by hand, fear not, just break out the KItchenaid mixer. Slap that 235 degree caramel in your mixing bowl, turn it on, like, 8 (not the highest setting, a couple below) and let it do it’s thing. This takes a while, though: mine went for over 25 minutes.

Image

It will start off a nice dark color and by the end, it will be a light-colored peanut butter-type color. To tell of it’s done, turn the mixer off, stick your (CLEAN) finger in the bowl and press down. If you can see where your finger was, it’s done.

Image

Image

Mine was technically done, but, honestly, I could have let mine go a few minutes more- this is still a touch soft. However, I was on call for work and I was at the mercy of my constantly ringing phone. My phone stopped ringing and I took the chance. I loaded up my new toy (picked it u at Target the day after Christmas- great investment) and got to decorating. I’m surprised how well it worked. My cupcakes look halfway decent.

Image

