This is fairly easy to make and I have yet to meet a carnivore who didn't love it (sorry, Jenn).

DSC03501

Shanna's Pizza Lasagna

What you'll need:

  • 1 box of lasagna noodles, uncooked (or make your own if you're more high-speed than me)
  • 2lbs ground beef
  • 16 oz zesty/spicy breakfast sausage (I like Bob Evans, but I've used others without issue)
  • Whatever tomato sauce you like, enough to make bolognese sauce with your beef and sausage
  • 1 package pepperoni (I just use the Hormel kind)
  • 3 cups (+/-) shredded mozzarella
  • 1 package sliced provalone cheese
  • 24oz ricotta cheese (COTTAGE CHEESE IS NOT AN ACCEPTABLE SUBSTITUTE FOR RICOTTA. EVER. STOP PUNISHING YOUR TASTEBUDS.)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tablespoons parsley, chopped, plus more for sprinkling on top

DSC03497

What you'll do:

  • Brown your ground beef and sausage together, drain THOROUGHLY- rinse it with water if you need to. Mix with your tomato sauce and allow to cook on low.
  • Meanwhile, (I do this in my KitchenAid with the wisk attachment because I am lazy, you can do this by hand if you want) mix your ricotta cheese, eggs, parmasan cheese, and parsley until well-blended.
  • Line the bottom of a greased deep 9 x 13 pan with lasagna noodles, spread half of the ricotta mixture on top, then place pepperonis in lines on top. The pepperonis do not need to touch or overlap. I probably used about 20 or so per layer. Use your own judgement. Spread a layer of sauce on top, then top with about a cup and a half of shredded cheese. Repeat layers beginning with noodle until lasagna pan is nearly full.
  • Top with a few slices of provolone cheese (I used 8) and the remainder of the shredded cheese. Sprinkle some more parsley on top.
  • Cover with non-stick (release) foil and bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes. Remove foil, allow to bake an additional 10 minutes.
  • Allow to rest for 15 minutes before serving.

And that's it. It goes a long way and seems to get better the longer it sits in the fridge. My boys will happily eat this for 3 or 4 nights straight if I let them- including my husband who hates anything  remotely Italian unless it was made by someone with "Papa ____" embroidered on their shirt. Enjoy!

