Yesterday, I was utterly exhausted.

DSC02535

I had a good excuse, though. My gorgeous friend, Jenn, had her twins and I was at the hospital with her while she labored. At the end of 10-ish hours, she had a beautiful baby girl (Nora, 6lbs 8oz) and a beautiful baby boy (Liam, 7lbs 5oz). I had to leave before they were born- Mike had to go to work- but I'm hoping to go visit them today and finally meet my goddaughter in person. 🙂

So, anyway, I was up all night, got home just before 5, went to bed, and got up about 8. Now I'm a person, who functions just fine on relatively little sleep, but if it's less than 4 hours, I'm pretty much useless for the rest of the day- same goes for me being startled awake. To top it off, yesterday was the first day of school for our district, so there was no hope of sending Seamus out to play until 4:30, when his friends got home. One of the joys of homeschooling, however, is that I have the freedom to make it work with our needs. Last week, I had a migraine and the air conditioning was broken, so Seamus played educational games on the computer while I waited for my medicine (and the repairman) to fix our problems. To make up for it, though, we did a science project on Sunday, but I'll make another blog post about that, it was fun.

So, what did I do?

I let Lego be our lesson. Thank you, mom, for giving into your grandson's begging.

DSC02538

First we built the alligator (math, engineering, spatial).

DSC02539

DSC02541

And when he was done (and completely awesome)- check out how his mouth opens and closes using a sliding pulley system on his back…

DSC02542

DSC02546

DSC02550

DSC02560

…we looked up information online about alligators, crocodiles, and the differences between the two online. We watched videos, read stories, and generally enjoyed ourselves while learning something along the way. It was a low-key kind of learning day.

