My name is Shanna and I cook. A lot.

My basic problem is: I like food. I like cooking food, I like tasting food, I like reading about food, I like watching others eat the food I've made, I like sharing food. I could go on. Basically, like I said, I like food. I'm the girl who goes on vacation and spends 75% of her time cooking.

Fortunately, I have a sous chef.

DSC01812

Unfortunately, he doesn't take his job seriously.

So, all this week, I'm going to post some recipes my boys  and I looooooove.

Starting with:

DSC01851

Epic Hot Pockets

I begin with the Auntie Anne's Pretzel Recipe. This recipe is my go-to base for a lot of fun stuff I make.

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cup warm water
1 1/8 teaspoon active dry yeast
2
tablespoons brown sugar
1 1/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup bread flour
3
cups regular flour
2 cups Warm water
2 tablespoons baking soda
to taste coarse salt
4 tablespoons butter (melted)

Directions:

Sprinkle
yeast on lukewarm water in mixing bowl; stir to dissolve. Add sugar,
salt and stir to dissolve; add flour and knead dough until smooth and
elastic. Let rise at least 1/2 hour.

While dough is rising,
prepare a baking soda water bath with 2 cups warm water and 2 Tbsp
baking soda. Be certain to stir often.

Now here is where I and the original recipe part ways.

Now that your dough is ready, flour your countertop (or where you roll things flat) and roll your dough into a big rectangle. Using a pizza cutter (or  very sharp knife), cut the dough in half lengthwise.

DSC01826

Now cut it into sections width-wise. I cut this sheet of dough into 6 sections, but if my dough is bigger, I have been known to cut it into 8 or 10.

DSC01830

Take your sections and top each with a slice of cheese and lunchmeat. For these, I used pepperjack cheese and smoked turkey (shaved).

DSC01831

Roll the dough up with the meat and cheese inside…

DSC01832

And tuck the ends under on the same side as the seam.

DSC01833

Dip into the baking soda bath (it sounds stupid, but if you skip this step, they won't brown properly), and place SEAM SIDE DOWN onto a greased or foiled cookie sheet. I use release foil because I am one laaaaaazy mama. I loooooove Reynolds release foil.

DSC01838

Bake for 10-15 minutes at 400 degrees or until nice and golden brown. They'll look like this when they come out:

DSC01842

Now, either dip the tops of the sandwiches into melted butter or take the lazy mom's way out and rub a stick of butter on the top. Those little leftover parts of sticks of butter after baking are perfect for this.

DSC01843

Sprinkle with coarse salt…

DSC01849

And serve! 🙂

