My child is a nerd. He would much rather stay inside all day long in the air conditioning and do math worksheets and read comic books than go outside and play on the slip n' slide or go to the playground. To be fair, he came by it honestly. Mike is exactly the same way (and so am I, to a degree- except I'd rather cook or knit). I have to force both of them to put down sudoku, their books, or whatever they're doing and go outside and absorb some Vitamin D (with sunscreen). I have even tried to convince them that they could read, play sudoku, or do math worksheets *gasp* outside. No go.

What can I say? They're 2 of a kind.

Anyway, for a couple of weeks now, Seamus and I have been working through Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons. The lessons started out downright painful. I was certain that lesson 100 was going to be: "Cry yourself to sleep". A friend of mine urged me to keep at it, that it WOULD get better, and she was right. It's heavily scripted which I love/hate: I love that it lets me follow their model and I still know I'm doing it right; I hate that it makes me feel like an idiot when I follow the model and have to say things like, "Today we are going to teach you to read. Would you like to learn to read? *wait for child's response* Good!". It makes me feel like Dora the Explorer: "And what was your favorite part of today's adventure? *wait for child's response* I liked that, too." I try to read ahead and mix it up, but life doesn't always allow for that.

All in all, the lessons are going well. I honestly wish I had started him on them a year ago, when I initially thought he was ready, but the school said not to, so I didn't. Oh well. Live and learn. The only part that we cannot grasp is rhyming. Oh. My. God. The rhyming lessons make me want to rip my hair out. How is it that the reading can be going so, so well and rhyming can be going so, so bad? I don't think for a moment he's dyslexic (apparently, not rhyming is an indicator in young children). I'm torn- do I keep going and hope he picks it up or do I start all over and keep at it until he gets it.

How important is rhyming anyway?

Well, apparently, it's pretty important according to the experts (although, I take little solace in the term "expert"- it's not as if you get a magic pill that makes you smarter than everyone else along with your college diploma. If you google "How important is rhyming", a whole host of articles come up on the subject.I, personally, think I'll just worry about it later. He's doing fine for now.

Plus, after spending an afternoon reading articles, I still don't get why it's so damn important.

