Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Tuesday, my new spinning wheel left Georgia and started making it's way to me. Considering that we had a blizzard show up Friday, I was concerned that it would get held up and not arrive until next week. Luckily, it arrived (literally) 10 minutes before the snow started falling.

So, I got Seamus from the bus stop and he happily helped me with the unboxing.

Don't ask me what this face is- I have no clue.

After we pulled out 5,000,012 pieces of Polish newspaper and sale fliers, we finally unearthed everything.

And here's what it looked like when it had just been unwrapped.

All put together (well, mostly):

Voila!

All I had to do to put it together was unfold it and attach some screws. All in all, it probably took me about 20 minutes to get it all together- and that's mostly because the instructions assumed a lot. I went to the library and picked up a couple of books on spinning and set out to try my hand at it.

Last week, I rented a Louet S-15 from my local yarn store to play with until I got my wheel (if you're local-ish to Frederick, Kristi has a great deal on renting wheels). I tried spinning on it, but mostly, it just frustrated me. It was a single-treadle (only one pedal) and it was just generally frustrating- there was a double treadle available, I probably should have rented it. I think I was pre-predjudiced against it's modern looks (I like more traditional looking wheels) mostly, but it's quirks made me want to toss it out the window. Of course, I didn't because (1) it was rented and (2) I like my LYS owner a lot. I know a lot of people love Louets, unfortunately, I am not a Louet-lovah.The yarn I spun on it turned out…OK. And "OK" is being nice. It's rather hard and rope-like. I was worried the same thing was going to happen again. 

Luckily for me, the Sonata spins like buttah and I managed to produce some pretty nice (and soft and not at all rope-like) 2-ply yarn. Of course, it's rather thick-and-thin (I am just learning, afterall), but it's completely usable. I'll have to make something out of it, but I have no clue what.

The fiber was by Riverpoet on Etsy and it's very nice. ❤

single-ply

Plied together. Ignore the trash in the yarn- remember where sheep live?

Puh-retty.

I'm pretty proud of myself. Learning to spin was on my "Learn-to-do" list and I'm so happy to finally be able to say I can do it. I still have a ways to go, but I'll get there.

I also cannot wait to go to Sheep and Wool this year and buy a whole bunch of undyed fiber to play with. Huge bags of fleece are like $10 each and I can pick up a carder for about $150. I also really, really, really want another lamb gyro (which I always feel wrong about eating at a festival celebrating sheep). Like, a lot.

