I finally made myself a sweater. Well, okay, not a sweater, but a shrug…which is like half a sweater, right? I've been wanting to make myself a February Lady Sweater (free pattern, btw), but the idea of making a full sweater was rather daunting. So, instead, to dip my toes into the pool of adult-garments-that-are-not-accessories, I set out to make Glampyre Knits One Skein Shrug ($5, but good pattern for any knitter to have in their arsenal). I armed myself with Huckleberry Knits "Moonlight" on merino wool and Season 3 of Dexter on Blu-Ray (thank you, Netflix). I got most of the way through the yoke (the top of the sweater) and realized that I didn't like this, and I didn't like that, and I had way more yarn than necessary (thanks mostly in part to my obsession with this colorway), so I decided to change things. Why? Because I am a troublemaker and nothing is right until I've screwed around with it. Case in point: the baby sweater I made for Brandon and Audrey. the pattern was, gorgeous, perfect, but nooooooo. I had to contact the designer and discuss how to add eyelets to the sleeves so I could run a ribbon through it.

Anyway, so this one-skein shrug ended up becoming a one-skein-shrug-with-sleeves-and-trim-and-cute-little-buttons. As far as I'm concerned, it's practically perfect.

So, now that I've gotten over my fear of adult garments, I'm going to make my mother the sweater she's been harassing me to make for her for 2 years. Do I think she'll ever wear this sweater? No. She lives in Florida…on the coast. Even their winters are beach-worthy. I started off making her a February Lady Sweater but after 3 nights, a million start-overs, a bunch of wasted yarn, and near-tears over the eleventybillion rows of garter stitch, I changed my mind…and renamed the pattern. So, instead, I'm making the Liesl Sweater with some washable wool I have by Miss Babs. I originally bought the yarn for me, but when it arrived, it was too coral-y pink for my skin tone. I can't wear orange-y or yellow-y colors AT ALL. I cast it on a couple of nights ago and so far, so good. I really like this pattern and the way the author wrote it up. Totally worth the £4.00 I paid for it.

I still intend on making a February Torture Sweater. I think they take away your knitting needles if you don't eventually make one- it seems to some kind of rite or passage. I'm shopping around for yarn and I have a few things in mind, but it's going to cost me about $100 for all the yarn to make it. That seems like so much to spend on yarn for a sweater…but if I were to go buy a sweater at the mall, I'd probably pay at least $100 for it and it would probably be machine-knit with crap yarn. I'm worth $100, aren't I?

Of course, Mike's reaction to me buying more yarn (in mass, no less), was this:

He loves me. He knows he does.
