(Dear Typepad, I don't know what this new framing crap is, but it can go back to hell where it came from. Having to type an entry 3 times IS NOT MY IDEA OF FUN.)

*deep breath*

Anyway…

July was crazy. There's just no other way to say it. Ryan and her kiddos, Grace (6) and Leo (nearly 4) came up for a long visit. While they were here, we visited Washington, DC, The Crayola Factory, and lots of other fun places. I took a ton a pictures, but I won't bore you with the 200+ pictures I took. If you really want to see them, here you go, knock yourself out. Otherwise, here's a few highlights:


Standing in front of the Washington Monument…


Boys being boys on the tourmobile…


Waiting for the subway after a long day of sightseeing…


At the Crayola Factory with a giant crayon…


Doing an art project at the Crayola Factory…


Waiting for the fireworks on the 4th…


Ryan and I…


Mike and Seamus…



The kids watching the fireworks…

All in all, I believe good times were had by all. We saw a lot, we learned a lot, and we had a bit of fun in the between times. 🙂

And, can you imagine? Somewhere in the middle of all that, my baby boy turned 4. My baby boy has, in the span of a year, transformed from a newly potty trained, dinosaur-obsessed little boy to a Transformer-obsessed, alphabet singing, learning-to-write big boy. He now loves Transformers, Iron Man, and Speed Racer (not necessarily in that order). All in all, he's a pretty awesome kid and just thinking about him makes my heart swell with pride.
For his birthday, we all went swimming at the town pool (which is a lot cooler than it sounds), made and decorated birthday brownies, and had a small party.


Playing at the town pool…


Grace and Seamus decorating their car brownies…


Ryan helping the kids decorate…


Look what we made!


Seamus' creation with his Iron Man Transformer (best mom ever, y/y?)…


A surprise gift from my dear friend Nikki. She MADE this shirt!



Seamus with his birthday swag…

When Ryan and the kids left to go back to Alabama, Seamus and I rode back with them for a three-week visit in Florida with my parents. When we got to Florida, we spent 10 days in a condo on the beach with my parents, my brother, and my nephew. The first weekend there, we had a small family party for Seamus and Martin (who's birthdays are about a month apart) and Aunt Shelia, Uncle George, and Mike's mother came. I made the cake.


Voila, the cake. The biggest pain in the arse cake ever, but nevertheless, the cake.


Getting ready to dive in…


Opening gifts…


Jay and Martin…


Seamus…


Seamus and I at the pool…

Seamus and Martin had a great time together at the condo the rest of the week…


And Ryan and the kids came to visit one day…


Then we headed back to mom and dad's house for a few days. It was really a pretty relaxing. I got a lot of knitting done, including a sweater for my cousin Brandon and my gorgeous cousin-in-law Audrey's forthcoming baby (who is a girl, and as of press time, nameless).
Here is the sweater, made from a silk and merino wool blend dyed by Three Irish Girls called "Oh, What a beautiful Morning!"


I also made a hat, as modeled by Baby, Seamus' waldorf doll. I have a newfound respect for people who are better at photographing baby hats than I. Although, I was told after Baby modeled for me, that grapefruits work great.

I also made a surprise, but I won't write about it because I'm 99.9% certain Audrey will read this. Hello, Laundry!

I also, in all my knitting foolery, made something for myself. I used 2 skeins of Blue Moon Fiber Arts,in Hot Flash (the semi-solid pink colorway) and Rock Star (the verigated colorway), and made myself a pair of "fraternal twin" socks in a pattern called Blueberry Waffle. Fraternal twin socks are the same, but different. They can have two different colorways and use one color for the body and the other for the heel & toe and do the opposite on the other sock (what I did) or do two slightly different patterns in the same colorway or a slew of other things. Anyway, here are the results:


And, while we're at it, meet my yarn pig, Stitches. She came from Little Pig Pottery.


And that's what we've been up to. Next on the agenda is a February Lady Sweater and a monkey. After that….taking over the world!

