So, for a while, I've lost what I lovingly refer to as my knitting mojo. I hadn't bought any good yarn in ages, I didn't have any truly exciting projects in the works, and I just didn't feel like knitting. I forced myself through a couple of trades with others, but I really haven't been feeling it. Finally, though, I bought myself some new yarn, dusted off some of my favorite tools, and bought myself a new pattern to pull myself out of my funk.

First, meet my new yarn, "Heart Throb" from Blue Moon Fiber Arts (heavyweight superwash)…

My favorite Addi 4" DPNs

My gorgeous RSEW Yarn Bowl

And my new pattern from my beloved Linds, Awesome Socks.

I am armed to battle my knitting funk with beautiful tools. I firmly and wholeheartedly believe that beautiful tools yield beautiful work. If your tools aren't pleasant to touch or to look at, how can you expect your work to be beautiful? How can you expect to come up with gorgeous results when you're using nasty bargain bin acrylic yarn? It's the difference in a pleather purse and Birkin. I don't know about you, but given the choice, I'm choosing the Birkin.

So far, I'm loving this pattern (visit the link to the pattern for more pics- it makes a gorgeous sock). The pattern shows off the colors of the yarn gorgeously, without creating any undesired pooling. I, for one, don't mind pooling a bit, but I know there are plenty of people out there who hate it.

For those of you who are confused by the word "pooling", this is what is commonly referred to as "pooling" by knitters:

Ok, these are crocheted, not knitted, but bear with me (for the record: I also made these). See how the colors in the yarn grouped up together and didn't really mix? That's pooling. There's a lot of different ways yarn can pool, but this is my favorite. I think pooling is beautiful. Yarn has a story, let it tell it's story.

I should write more, but I'm excited to get back to knitting. It's about time.

