Yeah, yeah, yeah. I took a little break. It was unplanned, but necessary. Thanks, Manda, for giving me a nudge. I'm going to make this a quick fly-by update.

Right after we got back in Feb, it snowed. And I mean it S-N-O-W-E-D. As long as I live here, I don't think I will ever get used to the snow. What really amazed me, though, were the icicles. We've had them before when it snowed, but never in this massive volume. They were everywhere…and lovely.

This is my very first snowman. Why is he laying down? Because he's tired. Yeah, that's it- he's tired. We'll stick with that because no way could it be that I have no clue how to make a snowman stand up. Either way, be impressed- Seamus was.

This is one of my new favorite patterns, although I'm probably one of the last people in the world to make one. I intend to make a bunch of them for next winter because it's sooooooooo much better for girls with long hair than a proper hat, which makes that stupid line in your hair when you take it off (those of you that live in the South probably have no clue what I'm talking about). The yarn is Peeps by my dear friend Aimee of Big Bad Voodoo Mama and it's CASHMERE and delicious.

For those of you who don't know, I think sock monkeys are creepy as heck. That huge red smile, those beady eyes…*shudder* Either way, when Seamus and I were in Joann's one day, he saw a kit to make one and begged me to buy it. Being the accommodating, crafty, fabulous mom that I am, of course I bought it (it also happened to be in the clearance bin for $5). We made it one night, with the help of my sewing machine that barely ever sees the light of day. It's not that I hate sewing, exactly…I'm just not that great at it. But, lo and behold, I made a sock monkey. And, I have to admit, he's even a little but cute. Seamus loves him. 🙂

I think he may have gotten my artistic skill, though (I actually am talented, much as I never draw). Check out his camel drawing. I'm very proud. I totally see the camel.

We have 2 new additions to our home. Crunchy and Squishy (Seamus named them), our Russian Dwarf Hamsters. We actually started off with just Squishy (the smaller of the 2), but the more we read said that they needed companionship, so we went back to PetSmart a few days later and picked up his cage companion, Crunchy. They're pretty good pets. They're pretty clean, sweet, and it's nice to have something that doesn't have free reign over the entire house.

And I'll end with some gratuitous family shots and make a real update this weekend. 🙂


Have a great end of your week!

