Tonight (thanks to a generous donation by my mother) we went to see Walking With Dinosaurs in Baltimore. It was mostly for my dino-obsessed toddler, but Mike and I absolutely enjoyed it as well. When we got there, many of the ushers warned us that Seamus would probably be scared, but I knew he wouldn’t. My baby is no scaredy cat.

Seamus had an incredible time. Before the show started, we sat in our seats and talked with Seamus about what was going to happen. He was very excited to hear the soundtrack of dinosars growling and walking while we waited. He asked Mike why it was taking so long for the dinosaurs to come out and Mike said, "They just woke up and they’re getting ready." Seamus though for a moment and said, "They’re brushing their teeth?" "Yes." So, Seamus sat and listened for a moment and a low, dinosaur groan came through the speakers. he said, "The dinosaur is pooping now, Daddy." LOL, love that kid.

I simply cannot describe the whole show, as much as I would love to. The dinosaurs were both life-like and amazing, not to mention life-sized. I’ll let these crappy "no-flash-photography" pictures do most of the talking…

And please remember, we were in civic center, with crazy-high ceilings…

Here you can see the dino beside a regular sized human, the "paleantologist"

Here you can see the legs from one of the actors controlling the smaller dinos

And here is a video to show you what it was like. There is a guy who "narrates" the whole show, but he’s not featured in the video. The last few seconds of the video are Seamus screaming, "ROAR ROAR ROAR!" at the dinosaurs because he thinks he’s a baby t-rex. There are days I agree.

http://smg.photobucket.com:80/flash/player.swf?file=http://vidmg.photobucket.com/albums/1003/ShannaTrim/MVI_4788.flv

 

All in all, we had a fabulous day and I highly recommend this show to any person who likes dinos or even likes natural history. I give it 5 stars (out of 5) in the "take your kid" section.

