Wow, it has been AGES since I wrote in this thing. These past few weeks have been absolutely insane. Where to start…the beginning is always good.

A few weeks ago, at the end of October or so, my grandmother started going downhill. It was bound to happen, she was 93. Mike’s mother, who was out of work at the time (and an RN), became her caretaker. She cared for her 5 hours a day, 7 days a week, and sometimes overnight if needbe. When she started going down, they doctors said she wouldn’t last more than a few days, maybe a couple of weeks at most. She had good days and bad for a couple of months, but she finally passed away on December 10th. I think Mike’s mom had a lot to do with her living longer and I am so grateful for that. Mike managed to get to take his Christmas leave a week early, so we made it down for the funeral on the 13th. Seamus did surprisingly well on the 17 hour drive down. My brother performed the funeral, which was simple and lovely. I don’t think it has hit me yet that she’s gone. She and Seamus share the same birthday- as he was debuting into the world, she was turning 91. It’s going to be strange this year to not call her and have Seamus talk to her on their birthday. I just really can’t believe she’s gone.

We stayed in Florida through Christmas, but if you want me to be honest, I don’t remember much of what happened. I remember bits and pieces, but the rest is a blur. Seamus got a wooden art easel from my MIL and grandmother-in-law, a wooden train train set from my parents (oh thank you, thank you, thank you, Mom, for listening to my requests for no licensed toys and no plastic toys), a huge metal Tonka dumptruck (I’m OK with Tonka), a Steiff moose, and a puppy. yep, we did it. We got him the puppy he’s been begging for for nearly a year now. A gorgeous little red daschund named "Madigan" (aka: Maddy). Madigan means "little dog". Perfect. 🙂 She’s an awesome little dog.

I finally finished decorting Seamus’ room. It only took me 3 months. At this rate, I should be done with the rest of the house in time for us to move again. I’m really pleased with his Very Moosey Room. The finishing touch was the silk I hung on the wall painted by my beloved Julia of Julia*Dream. Isn’t it lovely? It’s exactly what I wanted.

And, now I’m heading to bed. I’ll blog about business stuff tmw or Tuesday when Mike goes back to work. But, since this has been such a meloncholy post, I’ll leve you with this parting shot:

