Has it really been three weeks since I’ve updated? Whoops. I’m usually more on top of things than that, but we have been so busy with moving, it’s insane.  I’m really behind on my orders, but luckily most of my customers have been pretty understanding. I really took on too much to be moving on top of everything else. not too much I can do about that now, is there?

Since I last wrote, we’ve been making our travel arrangements back to the states. We fly from Okinawa to Seattle on July 21-  less than a month! We also discovered that we are going to be shouldering the costs of flying us from Seattle to Florida (to visit family) and Florida to Maryland. We’ll get paid back (eventually) for most of the cost, but we don’t exactly have an extra $1K lying around for three plane tickets. Blah, blah, blah. So, to help with the costs, my girls over at Hyenacart suggested I hold some raffles to raise some money for tickets. Enter The Great Moose Migration Raffles. We’ve sold about 65 (+/-) tickets so far and plenty more in stock. The raffles end July 7th, so hopefully we’ll still sell a bunch of tickets.

Speaking of travel, I have some gorgeous cahsmere yarn headed my way from Plum Knit Yarn Supply from her birthday lottery. I was going to do orders on the plane ride, but then I realized that is absolutely zero fun. Plane rides sucks already without adding on work, not that I hate my work, but that I don’t want to be responsible for the quality of my work at 30,000 feet. So, I bought a pattern for a Summer Shawl from DreamWeaverYarns and I fully intend to make something for (gasp/shock/faint) me. I wanted to make underwear from my cashmere yarn (seriously now, who doesn’t want cashmere all up in their business?), but I can only imagine the looks I would get while measuring my rise.

Let’s see: since I last wrote, I’ve completed about five projects, but I’ve forgotten to take finished pictures of all but four of them. First of all is a matching set of shorts for a couple of brothers living in Italy. One of the brothers is obsessed with cowboys and the other one is too young to care, so I made them similarly embellished, one with a cowboy boot and one with a lucky horseshoe. 🙂 They’s both out of Mosaic Moon’s "Chai Latte" in targhee with trim and embellishment yarn dyed by me in Starbucks’ Tazo Chai organic black tea. That was way more fun to dye with than Kool-Aid. I want to try it with herbal tea or green tea, but I’m not sure how it will work. I know I read it won’t work with that Celestial Seasonings crap, but I’m not 100% sure on others.

Next, I did a cute pair of cargo shorts with a little froggy poking out of the pocket, but I forgot to take a picture of them. ‘Tis a shame, too. They were crazy-cute.

And for one of my favorite people ever, Bridgett of Desert-Blooms, I did a partial trade- a pair of her longies for Seamus for a pair of shorts for her son. These are from Elliebelly‘s Bluebird’s Nest on organic merino. I love this stuff, it’s devine.

I also got to embellish a pair of shorts that Bridgett knitted for her son with a desert scene. The smaller pincushion cactus has a flower modled after Bridgett’s logo.

I can’t believe Seamus is going to be 2 in two weeks. He’s supposed to be 8 lbs 6.7 oz, you know, not knocking on 40 lbs’ door. We ordered his birthday cake yesterday, which made me a little sad. He’s getting an ice cream cake again this year, chocolate cake with chocolate chip ice cream, yummy. Here is my bouncing baby boy looking EXTREMELY happy in his new "airpane" jammies. They’re a 4T and they’re just barely big. Can he stop growing now, please? He’s going to put us in the poorhouse buying clothes for him.

And here he is with my new boxing gloves and jumprope. I think he looks way tough with all the pink, don’t you?

I have a Threadless "Hairstyles Secrets of Sheep" shirt that I love. I’m going to have to quit wearing it around Seamus, though. Whenever I wear it, all he does all day is point to the sheep and scream (because we’re almost 2 and yelling is fun), "sheep say ‘BAAAAAAAAAAA!’"

